"The Commons Collective" is a quintet comprised of current students and recent graduates of the University of Northern Iowa. Formed in August 2011, the group began as a school music ensemble under the guidance of Dr. Bob Washut, and quickly went on to become a professional group. They have recorded and released two CDs, “Beginnings” and “(un)common”, and have performed on the main stage at the nationally-acclaimed Iowa City Jazz Festival in 2014. “The Commons Collective" features original compositions by all members of the group, as well as its own creative interpretations of standard jazz and popular repertoire.

Nolan Schroeder (woodwinds)

Brian Crew (trombone)

Jon Snell (piano/keyboard)

Joel Conrad (bass)

Christopher Jensen (drums and cymbals)